Patchwork for Equality

Last week, the Supreme Court heard several arguments related to marriage equality and the constitutionality of Prop 8, and the Human Rights Campaign encouraged supporters of marriage equality to change their Facebook profile picture to a red and pink equals sign, symbolizing a belief that love is love, and hatred has no place in our culture and especially not in our laws. An astonishing number of my Facebook friends changed their profile pictures, along with almost 3 million other Americans. I was happy to see how many equal rights supporters I counted among my friends, and as people posted many creative variations on the logo, I couldn’t stop thinking about how the logo really ought to be a quilt!

I couldn’t bring myself to start yet another quilt, having so many unfinished quilts in the works, but I designed a little patchwork equality logo. (And then promptly ruined it with an attempt at free motion quilting, but that’s another story.) I did some improv patchwork with my pink scraps to form the equals sign, and floated it in solid red.

Patchwork for Equality | Postmodern Craft

If anyone wants to recreate this, here are the sizes of the pieces I cut:

Solid red: two 2″ x 8.5″ strips and two 2″ x 5.5″ strips (for the outer ring of red), one 1.5″ by 5.5″ strip (in between the pink strips)

Pink improv: two pieces of crazy patchwork cut down to 2.5″ x 5.5″ each

I would love to see other fun variations on this block!

Just be yourself | Postmodern Craft

I think it will eventually be a potholder. Potholders for equality!

I am linking up to Freshly Pieced Work in Progress Wednesday.

 

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I love your block. I can imagine a quilt made from these … hmmm …

  2. Awesome! Equal quilts for all! Everyone deserves a quilt 🙂

Leave a Reply

